THERMOS 1: Caryl Pagel

Today we begin a two-week feature of Caryl Pagel’s poetry. One of the poets we started the journal for, we’ve returned to Caryl’s work more than to any other poet’s. It’s been wonderful to watch as Rescue Press has flourished and her first book, Experiments I Should Like Tried At My Own Death has gained widespread recognition. We’re all proud to call her a friend and to continue our project of publishing more of/about her poetry this month. She’s an inspiring presence, we’re sure you (will) agree. This poem is from our first issue. Check back throughout the week for poems from our 5th and 8th issues, as well as writing about Caryl and her poetry by me and by Hilary Plum. Then, check back next week for even more! — AS



[Hear One Cry Out]


Hear one cry out
as if threatened–


Sheep act scattering




You emerge from the wings
unbelievably
















The town in tow
puts call to trial



Then grumbles back



down-hill













Under gold light
performance continues




A costumed herd accustomed
to my silence resumes
their place–


gathered upstage
against the back-drop



Back-drop an open field





All day long I keep track of this collection



in spite of lies
that lie


beneath my one line





Wolf

















Watched on watch
I can tell


one grows lonely



hears a whisper through the trees cut-
out along the wall






The scene escapes


Again I cry




You plead
I wait for right cue



















Held up
by attention
by terror


by rave


a chance to star



it kills my wonder when
wide interest wanes




I turn
shock-monster growing bold





Told to keep
song


for damage




real risk appears in shadow now

Leave a Reply

